CHIP Bonus Interests - 1) Savings 2) CHIP X

Dear Sarah,

On Facebook you kindly replied that the Savings ‘remuneration’ was classified as a “bonus is a monetary reward/gift for loyalty, rather than an interest rate, it is not required on a tax form.”

Can you also confirm whether the same is true for classification of the CHIP X monies accrued?

I look forward to hearing from you,
With Kind Regards

Hi Nardge!

I’m going to tag in @chip-shiv to answer this, as he’ll know for sure!

1 Like

Hello - I am Graeme and I am a newbie! :grinning:how do I get access to Chipx

Hi @GraemeC, welcome to the forum! The queue for ChipX is open and you can view it in your app. If you’re an investor, you’ll get a code in the coming months to jump the queue and get instant access as soon as we’re ready to go. :smiley:

@Nardge as an accountant my advice would be that it is the equivalent of interest and is taxable under hmrc rules. The bonus is based on an interest rate against the amount in your account so its legal form would be interest.

Remember though that if you are a higher rate tax payer you can earn £500 of interest or year tax free. If you are a basic rate tax payer this increases to £1000.

2 Likes

Hi Sarah I invested in 2018 and 2019 and I am still yet to receive my Chip X investor code. Is this something I should have received yet?

Thanks

1 Like

Hi @St2000, replying in @sarahchip’s absence (she’s running a half marathon at Disneyland dressed as Simba at the moment!)

We’ve not sent the ChipX links out yet, and we’re still tweaking the platform, but you’ll receive your queue jump links as soon as it’s ready to launch in the coming months!

1 Like

Hi @Tom_Chip @sarahchip
What about now? Any update on whether investors from Sep 2019 have

1. codes to skip the queue for ChipX and
  2. how the additional 1% AER bonus would work?

I still haven’t received my ChipX code.